The Editorial Board

The Editorial Board is the official voice of the Emory Wheel and is editorially separate from the Wheel's board of editors.

University, Wheel Must Address Internal Racism

On May 25, something snapped in the American psyche. Amid the COVID-19 pandemic, thousands of people nationwide have united in response to the police killing of George Floyd in Minneapolis, Minnesota. While some responded with looting and rioting, a vast majority have practiced courageous nonviolence and peaceful protest in the face of police brutality and [...]

Read More

Kemp’s Reopening Endangers Georgians, Undermines Progress

On April 20, Georgia reported 85 deaths from COVID-19, the state’s highest single-day total since the pandemic began. Yet on the very same day, Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp announced that he would allow some nonessential businesses to reopen statewide. These include places where social distancing is impossible, such as gyms, salons and tattoo parlors. Opening [...]

Read More

Online or In-Person? Fall 2020 Warrants Careful Consideration

As an unprecedented spring semester ends, an uncertain fall semester looms. COVID-19’s rampage continues without a clear end in sight; consequently, universities nationwide have begun to face a gut-wrenching choice between offering online or in-person classes in the fall. Emory is no different. Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs Jan Love recently [...]

Read More

National Testing Kit Shortage Limits Student Health, Endangers Low-Income Students

Following Emory’s move to remote learning, over 350 undergraduates remain on Clairmont Campus. Most are from international or low-income backgrounds and had no other option but to stay on campus through the end of the semester. As conditions worsen in Atlanta, they will suffer the consequences of poor management of the pandemic by politicians including [...]

Read More