Darby, Tilwa, Chan, Weinstein Win SGA, CC Executive Positions

Darby, Tilwa, Chan, Weinstein Win SGA, CC Executive Positions


Members of the Elections Board announced the results of student government elections and the referendum on Student Government Association (SGA) constitutional amendments around 12 a.m. on Thursday. More than 2,700 students voted online over a three-day voting period for their representatives for the 2014-2015 school year.

The Elections Board provided the following election results to The Emory Wheel. A full list of winners is available on the Wheel‘s website.

College sophomore and SGA Vice President for Communications Jon Darby bested College sophomore and SGA Speaker of the House Kim Varadi for SGA President. Darby won by a margin of 974 votes.

“I look forward to forging a stronger relationship between all Emory students and the Student Government Association, defined by accessibility, efficiency and representation,” Darby wrote in an email to the Wheel. “I am grateful for Emory’s abundance of servant-leaders, people who are consistently willing to go above and beyond for the sake of a better university. I aspire to become the leader you have elected me to be, and I know we will change Emory together.”

Darby added that he is thankful for all the people who campaigned for him and encouraged people to vote.

College sophomore and SGA Representative-at-Large Raj Tilwa will serve as the next SGA Vice President, receiving 1,815 votes, against College junior Andrew Chang College sophomore, receiving 712 votes and College Council (CC) Budget Chair Reuben Lack, who received 492 votes.

“I just feel humbled,” Tilwa said. “Knowing that there were a majority of voters who consider me to be a good SGA VP makes me feel empowered, and at the same time, I feel that I have to try my best for those people who believe in me.”

He added that he is excited to enact the policies he mentioned during his campaign and to work with Darby, saying they “share a very similar vision for Emory.”

In one of the closest presidential races this election season, College junior and CC Vice President Adam Chan was elected CC President with 881 votes against College junior and current CC Treasurer Omair Kazi, who received 823 votes.

Chan did not respond for comment by press time.

College sophomore and current CC Sophomore Legislator Alyssa Weinstein, who ran unopposed for CC Vice President, received 1,452 votes.

“I’m so excited to be CC VP,” Weinstein wrote in a statement to the Wheel. “Even though I was running uncontested, the whole election process was really exciting, and I can’t wait to work with the 59th College Council!”

The elections for Student Progamming Council (SPC) President resulted in a run-off between College junior Niyeti Shah and Goizueta Business School junior Michael Nathin, because none of the candidates received a majority of votes.

Shah said she was honored.

“The past ten days have been an incredible experience, and I am excited to continue my campaign over the next few days,” she said. “I am confident in the merits of my platform and believe that, if given the opportunity, I would see my platform to fruition.”

Nathin also expressed thanks.

“I am very thankful for the opportunity to be in a runoff for SPC President,” Nathin wrote in a statement to the Wheel. “Regardless of the outcome, I am confident that SPC will thrive in the future, but I hope everyone can recognize the dedication, passion and pragmatic approach I have continuously shown over my three years within the organization.”

B-school junior Caroline Capponi won SPC Vice President with 1,774 votes against Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing junior Michelle Feldman, who received 1,280 votes.

“I am elated and grateful for the opportunity to serve Emory as Student Programming Council Vice President,” Capponi said. “I am incredibly thankful for the support I received from my friends during the elections period and am so excited to continue the legacy of programming excellence.”

In addition, all eight of the amendments to the SGA constitution passed.

Run-off elections will be held from Monday April 7 at midnight to Wednesday April 9 at 11:59 p.m., according to College sophomore and Elections Board RHA Commissioner Bryce Robertson, who is also a Wheel sales associate.

–By Rupsha Basu 

+ posts

The Emory Wheel was founded in 1919 and is currently the only independent, student-run newspaper of Emory University. The Wheel publishes weekly on Wednesdays during the academic year, except during University holidays and scheduled publication intermissions.

The Wheel is financially and editorially independent from the University. All of its content is generated by the Wheel’s more than 100 student staff members and contributing writers, and its printing costs are covered by profits from self-generated advertising sales.