Callaway Memorial Center. | Photo by Jason Oh

Callaway Memorial Center. | Photo by Jason Oh

Emory University recognized 12 employees with the annual Award of Distinction for their dedication to their work during a March 24 dinner reception with University President James W. Wagner.

“The people are … the motivating factor that make it all happen,” said Stacy Heilman, research program director at the University’s Department of Pediatrics and Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta as well as one of the awardees. “Nothing I do, I do by myself … We’re here to make a difference.”

This year’s pool of 12 recipients — each of whom will received $1,000 — have come from campus divisions such as the Emory Police, Library & Information Technology Services, Oxford College and Campus Life. For the first time, former awardees were eligible for another award.

Emory’s Human Resources (HR) Department selected the awardees from a large pool of faculty, staff and supervisors who received endorsements from the employees’ division heads, according to the HR website.

After all nominations were filed on March 6, HR carefully reviewed each candidate for their eligibility and sent each nomination to the Award Selection Committee members, who the vice president of HR selected. The Committee, which also includes former award recipients, evaluates the nominations and selects 10 to 15 nominees that fit their criteria. The criteria includes employees who have contributed to the themes in Emory’s strategic plan, committed to the public good and advanced multicultural understanding.

Like Heilman, other recipients expressed gratitude for their team.

“Faculty are the key to any successful program,” said Mollie Korski, senior associate director of Summer Programs for the Emory College of Arts and Sciences and award recipient. Korski has worked at Emory for 30 years and made large contributions to Emory’s Pre-College Program for high school students.

“It’s very rewarding to work collaboratively with academic departments and to build a program with curriculum that utilizes our wonderful faculty,” Korski said.

Emory’s HR Department presented each recipient with a crystal plaque, framed certificate and a $1,000 award at last month’s reception.

Along with Heilman and Korski, Carolyn Aidman, Emory Urban Health Initiative associate director, was recognized for her initiation of two transportation projects ­— the Labor Limo and the Community Supplemental Transportation Initiative. The Labor Limo provides affordable transportation means for women in healthy labor, and CTSI is in collaboration with the Rollins School of Public Health, Schools of Medicine and Nursing and local partners.

Darrell F. Johnson, an Emory police officer, contributed to the community with his efforts to spread awareness of teen driver safety by implementing “Ghost Out” programs for teens in nearby schools.

Stephanie Parisi of the Library & Information Technology Services, led the intiatives for the five Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs).

Other recipients of the Awards of Distinction include Barbara C. Ballisty, executive vice president of academic affairs and provost; Carolyn Bregman, senior director of Alumni Career Services; Yoko Hammond, assistant director of business and finance of Yerkes National Primate Research Center; Seth Tepfer, director of administrative technologies for Oxford College’s Information Technology Division; Joel Tingle, senior human resources manager for Emory College of Arts & Sciences; Amy Wheeler, associate director and associate editor at the Center for the Study of Law and Religion and Dona Yarbrough, special assistant to the provost and director of Emory’s Center for Women.

— By Lisa Yu